Hotline by Quinn Anderson

30828044Zack never intended to become a phone sex operator, but with half a college degree and a smart mouth, his options were limited. It helps that he has a knack for thinking on his feet and a willingness to roll with whatever his clients throw at him. Sure, he gets his fair share of creeps and unconventional requests, but it pays the bills, and he’s in no danger of breaking his one rule: never fall for a client.

Until a man named “John” starts calling, and Zack finds himself interested in more than a paycheck. It’s not just that John has money, or that his rumbling baritone drives Zack wild. He’s everything Zack isn’t: educated, poised, and in total control of his life.

A twist of fate brings them face-to-face, and now that they’ve seen each other—and spent an unforgettable night together—they can’t go back to the way things were. A sex worker and a trust fund brat . . . It’s like Romeo and Juliet, but with less stabbing and slightly fewer dick jokes. Hopefully they can pull off a more successful ending.

ARC acquired through NetGalley.

I was a bit hesitant requesting this book because the ace in me really doesn’t care about phone sex, but I heard so many good things about it that I couldn’t resist and for most of it (80%, I think) I couldn’t have been more happy that I got it. Hotline has so many things I love in a romance: engaging writing, really good & clever characters, an interesting relationship, etc. It’d be easily at least a 4.0 star read if something hadn’t happened in the last chapters.

Now, I want to make it clear that it is a totally personal thing. A it’s not you, it’s me thing. Some stuff just turns me off too much for me to enjoy a book, and that’s what happened with Hotline. I was having a great time reading it until suddenly I wasn’t anymore.

I think I could’ve still liked the book if the characters had been given more time to deal with what happened because, well, it happened so close to the ending that things felt rushed and too easy. It’d still piss me off, but it wouldn’t have damaged my enjoyment of the book like it did here.

Still, the book is really good. The author has a way of making the characters seem real that it’s fascinating. I also loved the dialogue & the conversations between Zack and his friends. John didn’t grow on me, but not even that bothered me that much (until The Thing happened, that is). I plan on reading more from this author in the future; if her other books are anything like Hotline, I know I will be happy to read them. 3.0 stars.

Leave a Reply

