Review: Change of Address by Jordan S. Brock

31299879Air Force sergeant Michael Baldwin wanted nothing more than to escape his family’s political ambitions, but his dream of freedom was shattered by an enemy bullet to the head. Two years later, he and his service dog, Kaylee, resist his father’s demand to join him on the campaign trail—where a photogenic “wounded warrior” is always an asset—and instead return to the family’s summer home on Hartsbridge Island.

There Michael and his beautiful German shepherd capture the attention of Josh Goldberg, co-owner of the local bagel shop. Josh has a knack for business and a killer repertoire of his bubbe’s recipes. But lack of education undermines his confidence, and Josh’s father doesn’t share his ambition for the restaurant’s future.

Chicken soup and bacon might be the way to Michael’s heart, but he and Josh need time to learn about everything that comes after—lessons that Governor Baldwin and his relentless ambition will do anything to thwart. Letting someone in is a tall order for two men who can’t trust themselves, but if they have any hope of a future together, that’s exactly what they’ll need to do.

ARC acquired through Netgalley.

I thought I would love this book. I’m a big fan of hurt/comfort stories and this one seemed to be one, so I was excited. Unfortunately, it kind of fell flat for me.

The main reason being everything happened too easily, and no, that doesn’t mean I wanted an angst fest, but the book was far too… tame, I guess? There was barely any conflict between Josh and Michael, and it felt more like the story was just waiting for them to get together instead of, you know, having things actually happening. I didn’t mind reading it, but if I put it down it was kind of hard for me to pick it up again. So yeah, Change of Address isn’t exactly a page turner, and that wouldn’t have bothered me if I had felt the need to know what was going to happen at some point. But… well, I didn’t. Not once did I wonder how could Josh and Michael end up together, because it was obvious from page 1 that they would

(And yes, I know all romances are like that – they just don’t feel like that, and that’s why we read them, I guess.)

I enjoyed both Michael and Josh and loved how the author portrayed their problems & disabilities. It was really well done. Kaylee, Michael’s service dog, was also a great character and her relationship with Michael was just too cute. Josh’s dad was also awesome. So yeep, this book has really good characters.

But another thing bothered me in Change of Address: plot threads being dropped like nobody’s business (Michael’s sister, for example – what’s up with her? Is she getting a book? Because that would explain the way she just disappeared + Josh’s difficulty to read) and others resurfacing to be resolved in two minutes (Michael’s family being an ass). The book felt unfinished and the ending wrapped up too quickly.

Overall, this book was a big “okay” for me. I didn’t loved it and the stuff I mentioned above didn’t bother me enough for me to hate it. 3.0 stars.

Leave a Reply

