Writing Diary #06 – Bumps on the road

(Yeah, I know, it’s Monday – I forgot to post this yesterday).

So, I had five days of heaven after my last update. I wrote SO much from February 28th to March 4th, as in, almost 9k words, which is more or less three chapters. Everything was going extremely well, and I was so sure I would hit 35k way before my self imposed deadline, but then… puff. Everything crumbled.

This is my fault. I mean, of course it is – it’s my story and my writing, but in this case it’s something I could have easily avoided. Somewhere between the fourth thousand and the fifth thousand, I started feeling that something was… off. I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, so I kept writing anyway, but the feeling grew and grew and grew… Until I just couldn’t write anymore yesterday.

That made me pause, of course, to try to find out what the hell was happening. After a few hours of banging my head against the wall, I thought I had solved the issue. Spoiler: I hadn’t. I solved part of it, but today I kept thinking about what I wrote/fixed yesterday and nope. The thing wasn’t done yet.

Cue more three hours of angry scribbling and whining and yes, people, I did. I think I finally have it.

Which is awesome! I think the story is much stronger now – I added new chapters and cut some that were weak/not fun, I fixed some plot holes that I was kind of trying to mask & some I hadn’t noticed, I gave my main character more agency and gave my trio more moments together. This pause to plan again was, without a doubt, a good thing to do.

But it’s also a bit sad, because I don’t think I’ll save much of these 9k, now 10k, words I wrote since last week. Maybe those first 4k, maybe a few here and there, but most of it will probably go to the trash, which will ruin my schedule.

But well, better now than when I’m done with the draft, right?

Leave a Reply

