Review: House of Cards by Garrett Leigh

34093924Calum Hardy’s life has unravelled. Reeling from the betrayal of a man he once loved, he boards a train heading south, with no real idea where he’s going except a world away from London.

Brix Lusmoore can hardly believe his eyes when he spots one of his oldest friends outside Truro station. He hasn’t seen Calum since he fled the capital himself four years ago, harbouring a life-changing secret. But despite the years of silence, their old bond remains, warm and true—and layered with simmering heat they’ve never forgotten.

Calum takes refuge with Brix and a job at his Porthkennack tattoo shop. Bit by bit, he rebuilds his life, but both men carry the ghosts of the past, and it will take more than a rekindled friendship and the magic of the Cornish coast to chase them away.

This book didn’t work for me.

Which sucks, because I’ve heard good things about this author and have been meaning to read something by them for a long, long time. I’m choosing to believe this one might simply not be for me, since I intend to check out their other books at some point.

Why House of Cards didn’t work for me, though? I must admit I’m not sure. It had all the elements I usually love in a romance book: a slow burn (ish) romance, characters who stand by themselves and are not only what the relationship requires of them and a diverse cast of supporting characters. The book is about tattoos too, which is also something I like, and that might sound weird, but I loved the chickens. I grew up in a farm, so taking care of chickens is something I understand quite well.

But (as I’ve said), I didn’t enjoy House of Cards. Some of it might have been because of the writing (which is nice, but didn’t draw me in), but I’m placing my bets on how the plot… well, happened. I just had this feeling that I was waiting during the whole book, and not in a nice way. That’s it, though: I waited for the couple to get together because this is a romance book and that’s what happens in romance books (not complaining here), not because the plot convinced me that the couple would get together. In a way, I felt like I was reading a bunch of scenes that came one after the one, but that didn’t feel connected, didn’t feel like dominoes falling, you know? It just kind of happened and didn’t interest me in the least.

Does this make sense? Probably not, but that’s how I felt. 2.0 stars for House of Cards.

Leave a Reply

